Phone: (314) 843-0102
Fax: (314) 843-0508
flag image

Filing comes to an end for Aug. 3 primary

Three candidates are vying for the Democratic nomination for the 6th District County Council seat in the August primary, while incumbent John Campisi, R-south county, is unopposed in the primary.

Filing for the Aug. 3 primary for county, state and federal offices ended March 30.

Filing for the Democratic nomination for the 6th District County Council seat are Vicki Lorenz Englund, Julie Leicht and Ron Wagganer.

Eleven candidates have filed for the county executive's seat. The candidate elected in the November general election will complete the remainder of the late County Executive George R. "Buzz" Westfall's term and another election for the post will be conducted in 2006.

Republicans filing include: Edward L. Golterman, Fenton Mayor Dennis Hancock, former County Executive Gene McNary and County Councilman Kurt Odenwald. Democrats filing are: Charlie Dooley, who was appointed to the post by the County Council; Carl M. Johnson; David Lee; Charlotte Meshell; John Basil Moldovan; and Thomas Patrick Van Berkel. Also filing for county executive was Libertarian Theo. "Ted'' Brown Sr.

County Council seats in the 2nd and 4th districts also are up for election.

In the 2nd District, incumbent Kathleen Kelley Burkett is being challenged for the Democratic nomination by Carol Isbell. Republican Rebecca "Becky'' Deatherage Bu-walda also filed.

In the 4th District, incumbent Mike O'Mara is being challenged for the Democratic nomination by Deberah Haferkamp and Jeanie McCrary.

Voters also will elect township committeemen and committeewomen Aug. 3. By township, candidates filing include:

Concord — Democrats John "Jack'' McLaughlin and Hilde McLaughlin have filed. Mike Leara has filed for Republican committeeman. Filing for Republican committeewoman were Joanne Breckenridge and Patricia Leara.

Gravois — Democrats Michael Vogt and May Scheve have filed. Republicans John Winston and Katy Forand have filed.

Lemay — Democrats Marlene Treadway and Ken Harangozo have filed. Republicans Miriam Stonebraker and Michael Ellebracht have filed.

Oakville — Richard "Rich'' King has filed for Democratic committeeman. Filing for Democratic committeewoman were Norma Hiatt and Ann Pluemer. Republicans Kurt D. Witzel and Celeste Witzel have filed. Libertarian Michael R. Pakko filed for committeeman.

Tesson Ferry — Democrats Edward Koeller and Jane E. Koeller filed. Linda Boyer filed for Republican committeewoman. Filing for Republican committeeman were Carl H. Hendrickson and Joseph Matuszak.

Missouri House of Representative seats in the 66th, 85th, 95th, 96th, 97th and 100th districts also are up for election.

In District 66, incumbent Democrat Michael Vogt, 6035 Weber Road, 63123, has filed. Also filing was Republican Robert A. Weiter, 8511 Titchfield Court, Apt. A, 63123.

In District 85, incumbent Republican Jim Lembke, 812 Ann Lynn Court, 63125, has filed for re-election. Also filing for the District 85 seat were Democrat Jeff Wagener, 607 Sappington Barracks Road, 63125, and Libertarian Jim Craig, 9 Buckley Meadows Drive, 63125. Wagener is a former 6th District county councilman.

In District 95, incumbent Republican Jim Avery, 7939 Royal Arms Court, 63123, is unopposed.

In District 96, incumbent Democrat Patricia "Pat" Yaeger, 729 Reed Ave., 63125, has filed for re-election. Also filing were Republican Mike Becker, P.O. Box 190594, 63119, and Libertarian Ronald E. Levy. Levy ran two years ago.

In District 97, Walt Bivins, 9 Idecker Court, 63129, and Democrat Jane Koeller, 4227 Chatford Court, 63129, have filed. Koeller sought the District 97 seat in the November 2002 election.

In District 100, incumbent Democrat Sue Schoemehl, 2629 Bluff Ridge Drive, 63129, is being challenged by Patricia Willeke, 7123 Underoak Road, 63129. Willeke challenged Schoemehl two years ago. Also filing was Michael P. Rohrbacker, 4109 Lisieux Lane, 63129. Rohrbacker sought the District 100 seat in November 2002 .

In the District 1 race for Missouri Senate, three candidates have filed, including the husband of the current officeholder, Republican Anita Yeckel, who cannot seek a third four-year term because of term limits. Candidates filing include Democrat Harry Kennedy, 4959 Sutherland, 63109; Republicans Bob Yeckel, 8819 Gladlea Drive, 63127, and David A. Strickland, 4337 Robert Ave., 63116; and Green Party candidate David Sladky, 8 Buckley Meadows Drive, 63125.

Kennedy currently serves as the District 3 state senator. Because of redistricting, Kennedy cannot seek re-election in the 3rd District.

In the state treasurer's race, 11 candidates have filed for the position, including Anita Yeckel, a Republican. Also filing were: Democrats Jason Klumb, Butler; Arnold Mayor Mark Powell; and state Rep. Mark C. Abel, Festus. Republicans filing were: Chet Boeke, St. Charles; Al Hanson, Concordia; William "Will" R. Pundmann, St. Charles; Tom Klein, 18 Biritz Drive, 63137; state Sen. Sarah Steelman, Rolla; and Blaine Lutkemeyer, St. Elizabeth. Libertarian Lisa J. Emerson of Raytown also filed.

In the 2nd Congressional District, four candidates have filed for the seat held by Republican Todd Akin, who is seeking re-election. Filing were Democrats George D. Weber of Eureka and John Hogan of St. Charles and Libertarian Darla Maloney of St. Charles. Hogan and Maloney sought the seat in the November 2002 election.

In the 3rd Congressional District, 13 candidates have filed for the seat currently held by Democrat Richard Gephardt, who has announced he will not seek re-election.

Filing were Democrats Jeff Smith of St. Louis, state Sen. Steve Stoll of Festus, Mark Smith of St. Louis, Michael R. Bram of Oakville, St. Louis Circuit Clerk Mariano V. Favazza of St. Louis, Corey Mohn of St. Louis, former state Rep. Joan Barry of Oakville, state Rep. Russ Carnahan of St. Louis, Mike Evans of St. Louis and Jo Ann Karll of High Ridge. Republicans filing were Joan McGiveny of Webster Groves and Bill Federer of Oakville. Libertarian Kevin C. Babcock of St. Louis also filed.

  • Pitch It & Forget It
  • Huelsman's Jewelers
Site Search

Impact News
Lemay residents overwhelmingly support casino, survey finds
Fire district to research placing tax-rate increase before voters
Council urged to reject Fred Weber motion to disqualify Campisi
Mehlville informs 68 that contracts wonít be renewed
Top administrators decline salary hike
Mehlville accepts VICC panelís report, but takes no action on recommendation
Type in your zip code and click "Go" to get your 7-day forecast.