Phone: (314) 843-0102
Fax: (314) 843-0508
flag image
Boy Scouts from Troop 581 who were presented the Eagle Award, from left, are: Nick DiPietri, Jeff Panhorst, James Benson, Mike Rains and B.J. Rains.

Reunion draws 50 of troop's 100 Eagles

Crestwood Boy Scout Troop No. 581 recently celebrated its Eagles Reunion at the Crestwood Elks No. 2503 Lodge.

More than 50 of the troop's 100 Eagle Scouts attended the reunion, which attracted roughly 225 people. An engraved dedication brick to mark the occasion will be presented and installed at the Beaumont Boy Scout Camp.

Five Scouts from Troop 581 were presented the Eagle Award, Scouting's highest achievement, during an Eagle Court of Honor. B.J. Rains, Mike Rains, Jeff Panhorst, James Benson and Nick DiPietri received their Eagle Awards.

Scoutmaster Moe Kraft, who has been the troop's scoutmaster for 10 years and is active at both the district level and the St. Louis council level, passed on the scoutmaster position to Dan Wenk, assistant scoutmaster.

Ten former scoutmasters from the troop were recognized for their contributions to Boy Scouts, including Fred Bedford, Hank Georges, John Ochsner, the late Mel Dornhoefer, Bill Meyer, the late Roy Noakes, Gene Wilberg Jr., Bob Rohlfing, Stuart Walls and Kraft.

The program also featured a historical flag ceremony given by Crestwood Elks Loyal Knight Keith Bellchamber. Flagbearers were Boy Scouts from Troop No. 581.

  • Huelsman's Jewelers
  • Pitch It & Forget It
Site Search

Our Town
Peace Lutheran offers 12th annual presentation of ‘The Living Last Supper’
Lemay chamber honors Mehlville educators
Type in your zip code and click "Go" to get your 7-day forecast.